Explore Central Geelong
There's more than one way to get around Central Geelong.
There are transport options to suit everyone. Buses, bikes, trains, taxis, park & ride and the Central Geelong Shuttle are all available in Central Geelong.
Discover Central Geelong in the palm of your hand.Get the App
Wander the walking trail to discover The Carousel, public art, the Baywalk Bollards, historical buildings, museums and galleries.
was constructed between 1928 and 1939. The bathing complex was fully restored during the 1990's as the first part the Waterfront precinct rejuvenation. Individual promenade planks were purchased by the people of Geelong to assist with the cost of the restoration.
tell a story of the people and events associated with Geelong's history. There are 111 scattered along the Waterfront.
are splattered around the Waterfront as pavement inlays. Made of stainless steel with cast inlays depicting imported and locally made objects.
are a series of brass and glass boxes containing sculptures and artefacts recognised early imports into Geelong. Each box features the name of the vessel which carried the goods and the dates the vessel operated.
incorporates a barcode from a Geelong iconic product: Noddy's Soft Drink. The barcode is reproduced on the stainless steel panels of the feature.
is housed in a bluestone wool store built in 1872. Showcasing the story of wool, from the sheep's back to the clothes rack as well as operating a calendar of contemporary exhibitions.
is a favourite haven for shoppers, workers and students. Once a swamp, then a dam, the area was transformed into a park in 1872, the idea of Mayor Robert de Bruce Johnstone.
A vibrant art gallery in Geelong exhibiting original Australian paintings, edition prints, art glass, sculpture and jewellery.
was established in 1896. The Gallery has amassed a magnificent collection of 19th and 20th century Australian and European paintings, decorative arts and sculpture. The collection includes Eugene von Guerard's View of Geelong (1856) and Frederick McCubbin's A bush burial (1890).
consists of seven randomly placed cement objects resembling sails or fins. No two fins are positioned on the same plane and by moving around the sculpture the profiles change quite dramatically.
pavilion houses a rare and beautifully restored c. 1892 Armitage - Herschell steam driven carousel and an 1898 Gavioli Band Organ.
|Good - Many parks|
|Moderate - Several parks|
|Limited - Limited parking|