Geelong Gallery is delighted to announce that 36 works by leading and emerging Australian artists have been shortlisted for the 2018 Geelong contemporary art prize.

Showcasing the best of contemporary Australian painting practice, this $30,000 acquisitive award and biennial exhibition will feature works by Natasha Bieniek, Seth Birchall,Amber Boardman, Andrew Browne, Jon Campbell,Nancy Constandelia, Yvette Coppersmith, Ann Debono, Troy Emery, Emily Ferretti, Patrick Francis,Nyarapayi Giles, Peter Graham, Camille Hannah,Katherine Hattam, Euan Heng, Gregory Hodge, Carissa Karamarko, Madeleine Kelly, Mason Kimber, Anna Kristensen, Darren McDonald, Laith McGregor, Fiona McMonagle, Amanda Marburg, Sam Martin, Tully Moore, Jan Murray, Louise Paramor, Sally Ross,Huseyin Sami, Andrew Taylor, Kate Tucker, Sharon West, Bradd Westmoreland and Alice Wormald.

Justin Paton, Head Curator, International Art, Art Gallery of New South Wales, and Rebecca Coates, Director, Shepparton Art Museum, joined Lisa Sullivan, Senior Curator, Geelong Gallery, in judging this year’s award.

The recipient of the $30,000 acquisitive 2018 Geelong contemporary art prize will be announced on the evening
of Friday 8 June.

Pair this exhibition with lunch or dinner. To find eating options, click here

This event forms part of the Tastes of Central Geelong festival. Click here to see more great food related events happening between 6-29 July.